The 10 Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years

The 10 Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years

The Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years: Brock Lesnar – WWE Championship, Josh Alexander – Impact Championship, Nikki A.S.H. – WWE Raw Women’s Championship, Pentagón Jr. – Impact Championship, “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt – WWE Universal Championship

The last five years of wrestling have been some of the most interesting years in sports-entertainment history. Impact jumped from TV network to TV network. AEW became a thing. Vince McMahon has retired.

Here are The 10 Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years

CM Punk – Second AEW Championship reign (2022)

CM Punk changed the world of wrestling when he arrived at AEW in 2021. Everyone was sure that he would pursue a title run, but no one could have imagined that they would be such failures. His first run with the title was supposed to set up a “Summer of Punk II” but a foot injury led to Jon Moxley becoming the interim champion.

He lost the belt (for reasons unknown) and then got it back from Moxley at All Out 2021. MJF returned to AEW and it looked like Punk was poised for a big career. After the pay-per-view, a media scrum followed and buried a ton of talent who, according to him, “went into the business [themselves]”. It was one of the most shocking moments in wrestling history and the title was vacated soon after. It could be his last run as champion in AEW.

The Miz – WWE Championship (2021)

Transition champions are generally no good, but The Miz found a way to be one of WWE’s worst transition champions in 2021. After (somehow) winning the Money the Bank contract, no one was sure if they would give him a true title run. as he was not competing at the championship level prior to the match.

He cashed in his Money in the Bank contract with Drew McIntyre at Elimination Chamber. was booked as an outright joke and no one could tell that he once had a serious title run in a previous decade. His run for the title lasted 8 days and he was forced to relinquish the title to Bobby Lashley on an episode of Raw.

Jeff Jarrett – AAA Mega Championship (2018)

The AAA Mega Championship has often been reserved for some of the best wrestlers in the business. Jarrett winning the title in 2018 was strange for many reasons. First, he barely fit the AAA style at the time (unlike his first run with the title in 2011).

The second, he defeated Rey Mysterio and prevented him from winning his first AAA Mega Championship at Verano de Escándalo (2018). Jarrett had 0 title defenses and it was a forgettable achievement in his long career as a wrestler.

Charlotte Flair – WWE Smackdown Women’s Championship (2019)

Charlotte Flair and Bayley had a huge feud in 2019. One of the only low points in their rivalry was Hell in a Cell 2019. She ended Bayley’s 140-day run as SmackDown Women’s Champion for no apparent reason.

She lost the title to Bayley on the next episode of Smackdown. Bayley ended up retaining the title for over a year after Flair’s four-day streak as champion.

Bobby Lashley – WWE Championship (2022)

In 2022, Bobby Lashley was stuck on the booking trail aimlessly for the WWE Championship. He had a great run as champion in 2021 and when he defeated Brock Lesnar at the Royal Rumble, it seemed like a second run was imminent.

Instead, the win was meaningless and he lost the title to Lesnar at Elimination Chamber in less than a month. There was no logical reason for him to win the title and overall it was a losing streak.

“The Fiend” Bray Wyatt – WWE Universal Championship (2020)

White Rabbitt’s recent promotions in WWE have caused many fans to wait for the return of Bray Wyatt. “The Fiend” was one of the most ingenious gimmicks in recent years and could have elevated wrestling in many ways.

Instead, “The Fiend” continued to suffer heavy losses that made him appear weak despite his supernatural abilities. He was the last person to hold the Universal Championship before Roman’s nearly thousand-day reign. He held the title for 6 days before being dominated by Roman. The entire run was one big waste of “The Fiend.”

Pentagón Jr. – Impact Championship (2018)

As one half of the Lucha Brothers, Pentagón Jr. has become one of AEW’s top stars. He and Rey Fenix have had a few solo matches, but most of his recent success has occurred as a dominant tag team unit.

In 2018, Pentagón Jr. won the Impact Championship from Austin Aries at Redemption. In all honesty, he could have carried the title very well for the company, but he lost the Impact Championship to Aries after a low blow and two days with the title. It was a big disappointment, overall.

Nikki A.S.H. – WWE Raw Women’s Championship (2021)

Nikki A.S.H. is one of the weirdest wrestling gimmicks of the last 5 years. She has done very little to uplift Nikki even though A.S.H. being a former world champion with the personality of “superhero”.

In 2021, Nikki cashed in her Money in the Bank contract and won the Raw Women’s Title from Charlette Flair. She was extremely incredible as a champion and lost the title in just over a month. ASH. she never had a single successful title defense.

Josh Alexander – Impact Championship (2021)

At Bound for Glory 2021, Josh Alexander finally won the Impact Championship. His rise to the top of the company was pretty well done. He defeated veteran superstar Christian Cage and seemed destined for a big career.

Out of the blue, his title run was extremely brief as Moose invoked his Call Your Shot Gauntlet championship contract and promptly defeated Alexander to win the title. Alexander would eventually win back the title for a much better run at Rebellion 2022.

Brock Lesnar – WWE Championship (2022)

Brock Lesnar had two lackluster title reigns in 2022. The first came when he ended Big E’s title run on Day 1. He was an aimless booking and lost the title to Bobby Lashley in less than a month. He did nothing to elevate himself or the belt.

His second lackluster run came after he won the title at Elimination Chamber 2022. They randomly put the belt on him so he could wrestle Roman Reigns in a title vs. title match at WrestleMania 38. It was an artificial run that everyone fans saw. .

Read Also:

The Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years

The last five years have also seen many successful world champions throughout the wrestling world. Kenny Omega held three major world titles. Roman Reigns became the Undisputed WWE Champion. Kazuchika Okada held the IWGP Heavyweight Championship for almost two years. There were also a bunch of title reigns that were extremely lackluster. This list will examine ten of the worst title reigns from the last five years of wrestling.

The 7 Worst World Title Reigns Of The Last 5 Years (With Image)


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *